Profile: LRS Design Collaborator, Lindsay Obermeyer

I’ve been stitching, sewing, knitting and otherwise making for longer than I can remember. Both parents were what you might call crafty individuals, but it was my grandmothers who encouraged and indulged my passion for all things textile.

In my work, I employ the history and metaphors surrounding textile practices to study issues as diverse as environmentalism, medical ethics, nanotechnology and gender.  My art has been exhibited throughout the United States and internationally at venues including the Museum of Fine Arts, Boston (MA), the Milwaukee Art Museum (WI), the Museum of Arts and Design (NY), and Centro Colombo Americano (Columbia).  I created the community art piece The Red Thread Project® which has involved the participation of thousands knitters to date and is coming to Chicago this fall.

Designing and making the costumes for Ladies Ring Shout has been a true pleasure.  Though I worked as a crafts technician for several ballet companies, I’ve never had the honor of being both the designer and maker.  The collaborative process has been inspiring and is sure to inform my own practice in the future.

—Lindsay Obermeyer

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

